apuan alps unesco global geopark





   Identity card of the Geopark



Apuan Alps Unesco Global Geopark

Authority: Parco Regionale delle Alpi Apuane (Regional Park Authority of the Apuan Alps) – Stazzema (Lucca)

Administrative Units: via Campana, 15B – 55047 Seravezza (Lucca); via Simon Musico, 8 – 54100 Massa; Casa del Capitano, Fortezza di Mont’Alfonso – Castelnuovo di Garfagnana (Lucca)

Phone:  +39 0584 75821, +39 0585 799411, +39 0583 644478

Fax: +39 0585 758203, +39 0585 799444, +39 0583 644635

Website: http://www.parcapuane.it (web portal: www.apuaneweb.it – specific website: www.apuanegeopark.it)

E-mail: info@parcapuane.it (specific email: info@apuanegeopark.it)

Provinces (2): Lucca and Massa Carrara

Municipalities (18): Camaiore, Careggine, Carrara, Casola in Lunigiana, Fabbriche di Vergemoli, Fivizzano, Fosdinovo, Gallicano, Massa, Minucciano, Molazzana, Montignoso, Seravezza, Stazzema and Vagli Sotto (in the area of the park); Castelnuovo di Garfagnana, Pescaglia, Pietrasanta (in surrounding areas only)

Foundation: Tuscany Regional Law no. 5 of 21 January 1985; it became a regional organization governed by public law with Tuscany Regional Law no. 65 of 11 August 1997

Master plan for the Park: it is the main instrument of planning for the park and its surrounding areas. It was adopted by the Park Board of Directors’ decision no. 21 of 30 November 2016

Long term socio-economic plan (Action Plan): it is the main instrument defining actions aimed at protection, conservation, promotion and enhancement. It was adopted by the Park Community’s decision no. 4 of 27 April 2010

Park Community: it has advisory functions and gives binding decisions on planning and regulatory actions in the protected area as well as on estimated budget and on the actual cost. It is the local autonomies’ assembly, consisting of Mayors and Presidents of Municipalities, Union Municipalities and Provinces which are situated, even partially, in the territory of the Park

Board of Directors: it is the executive body which decides on planning and regulatory actions, estimated budget and the actual cost. It is formed by the President and twelve members elected by the Regional Council among qualified experts on the basis of their technical-scientific qualifications or administrative experience with the following criteria: a) seven members appointed by the Park Community; b) three members proposed by environmental protection associations and some scientific organizations: the National Lincean Academy, the Italian Botanical Society, the Italian Zoological Union, the National Research Council of Italy (CNR), the Universities of Tuscany; c) two members chosen by the Regional Council

Executive Committee: it is the executive body responsible for the management executive plan. It is formed by the President and four members appointed by and within the Board of Directors

President: the legitimate representative of the Park Authority appointed by the Regional Council among the candidates proposed by the Park Community  

Director: he/she implements the decisions made by executive bodies and coordinates the organization and the staff of the board; he/she is chosen through a public competition among graduates with work experience and suitable for the position of Park Director

Scientific Committee: gives opinions on the main planning and regulatory actions regarding the protected area as well as advisory opinions on environmental protection and preservation. It is formed by seven teachers from the Universities of Tuscany and CNR researchers with expertise in the following areas: geology, botany, zoology, agronomy, forestry, ecology, urban policies. 



back to Geopark's main page